Chocolate Covered Oreo Bites

As you may have noticed, I loooooove making finger foods (for more recipes, click here, here, or here).  So when my cousin/neighbor (yes, we live in Tennessee, so this happens… mostly because I am related to 90% of my hometown) came over for a baking session, I jumped at the chance to try out this yummy new oreo dessert.  They. are. to. die. for.  They could be a quick and easy party food, but they also make the perfectly poppable evening dessert.  Warning, be prepared to get your hands dirty.

IMAG1108

1 pkg. oreos (I got the off-brand)

1 8-oz. pkg. cream cheese, softened

1 bag chocolate chips (or white chocolate!)

1 tbsp. vegetable oil, optional

Step 1) Crumble oreos into a large bowl.  We just squished a couple cookies at a time into the bowl and then went back and crushed up any too-large pieces.

Step 2) Mix cream cheese into the crushed oreos.  After several rounds of trial and error, we found that two forks working in tandem seemed to accomplish this goal the best.

Step 3) Roll the cream cheese/oreo mixture into little balls, you want them about the size of a ping-pong ball.  Put them on wax paper layered over a cookie sheet.

Step 4) Freeze the bites for about an hour.  While not essential, this step helps the oreo mixture not fall apart for the next step.

Step 5) Melt white chocolate.  I like to add a tablespoon of vegetable oil to chocolate when I melt it, as it helps it melt smoother.

Step 6) Dip frozen oreo bites into the melted chocolate.  Put them on wax paper to harden up!

And that’s all there is to it!  They are very similar to the cake balls I made for my hunger games party back in August.  They are the very essence of rich, chocolate-y goodness.  Katie Grace and I dipped some of them in chocolate and some in white chocolate.  We drizzled the chocolate ones in the leftover white chocolate for a fun “gourmet” effect!  And we had an amazing time doing it. 🙂

IMG_20130228_190126222

What about you?  Have you gotten in the kitchen baking lately?  Sharing the kitchen with people you love is a great way to connect.  Some of my best memories come from cooking together with women who have meant so much in my life.

IMAG1106

Comments Welcome.