Oh the Places You’ll Go

I struggle with how to start this post…  Not that we are travel deprived (see more about our adventures here, here, here, and here) but Josh and I both have had a bit of Wanderlust lately.  I’m not sure if making a bucket list helps or hurts this, but that’s ok.  Haha.  Not everything on this list is travel-related, but it is a bucket list, so obviously it’s mostly about travel and adventure, even if that adventure happens right in our own back yard.  So, without further ado… 50 things I want to do in my life. Take 1.

1.  Buy a house

2.  Visit the Radisson Blu Hotel in Berlin, Germany

3.  Go on a cruise

4.  Go on a cruise without puking

5.  Parasail

6.  Meet the President… ok A President… one I agree with at least somewhat…

7.  Do the splits… and survive

8.  Visit the Louvre/Versailles/Eiffel Tower… ok basically Paris

9.  Get published… like for real, elementary school doesn’t count

10.  Buy a real camera

11.  Finish a (sprint) triathalon

12.  March in Washington, D.C. for a cause I believe in

13.  Start a Roth IRA

14.  Successfully wield a powertool without adult (aka Josh) supervision

15.  Host/Attend a masquerade

16.  Convince someone to let me be their wedding planner

17.  Go on a safari

18.  Adopt a child… eventually

19.  (Finally) learn to waterski

20.  Paint a picture I am willing to hang on the wall

21.  Start a business

22.  Visit all 50 states

23.  Learn a stringed instrument… preferably the Mandolin

24.  Renovate that house we bought

25.  See an Opera, preferably Carmen

26.  Purchase an R.V. when I retire

27.  Take part in an HGTV show (aka Extreme Makeover: Home Edition)

28.  Visit Aruba, Jamaica, Bermuda, Bahamas, Key Largo, Montego, Kokomo and then sing the song…

29.  Own a cow… and milk it

30.  Stay at a Bed & Breakfast

31.  Guest lecture at a college

32.  Scuba dive

33.  Successfully operate a sewing machine

34.  Get my carry/concealed weapons permit

35.  Own a Dyson Bladeless Fan

36.Go on a business trip

37.  Take Josh to the Galapagos Islands

38.  Drag Josh to a dancing lesson

39.  Actually learn to dance

40.  Ride in a Gondola (Las Vegas and Disney World don’t count)

41.  Taste expensive wine

42.  Homeschool my children

43.  Learn to change a tire

44.  See every James Bond movie ever made

45.  Ride a train with the intent of getting to a destination (subways and theme parks don’t count)

46.  Be featured in one or more Better Homes and Gardens, Southern Living, Etc. magazines

47.  Be interviewed…  not for a job opening

48.  See the Pyramids

49.  Hike up a significant mountain

50.  See the Rockettes

Thankfully, I married a very adventurous (and patient) man, so most of these things could be marked off the list.  Will I ever been featured in Better Homes & Gardens?  Probably not… not unless they are doing a piece entitled “Real People, Real Houses, Real Messes.”  But I think that keeping a list of the things you want to do helps keep the dreams alive.  I’m convinced that imagination doesn’t die with puberty, not unless we let it.  So this is my grown-up version of career day…

*Disclaimer: Obviously, none of these pictures are mine… if they were, I wouldn’t need my bucket list…*

2 thoughts on “Oh the Places You’ll Go

  1. I love your list! Sounds like lots of fun adventures ahead of you and Josh! I love that it’s the perfect mix of traveling type things and also the perfect mix of real life at home adventures.

Comments Welcome.