50 States Challenge

I recently read an article about people who had been to all or almost all fifty U.S. states.  I travelled quite a bit as a child, and my husband and I are already pretty well-travelled (considering we have been married less than 2 years).  So it has been pretty well established that sight-seeing and vacationing will be a big part of my life for the rest of my life.  I went through and crossed off all the states that I have been to, just as a kind of curious survey.  I know for sure that I have been to at least 25.  It is on my bucket list to see all fifty states before I die.  And I don’t want to just “be in” the state, I want to experience something meaningful in all 50 states.  This is why one or two are up in the air.  I am fairly certain I have driven through a few, but I can’t remember anything meaningful that happened in that state, so I am not going to count it.  So if you are feeling nostalgic and want to read through my memories, have at it.  But if not, that’s ok too.  I want to log these kinds of things so that I never, ever forget.

  1. Alabama – One year anniversary trip to Gulf Shores with the hubby
  2. Alaska – Family vacation RV trip when I was in middle school
  3. Arizona – Visited on a western road trip my family took when I was in 5th grade; stayed overnight in Sedona
  4. Arkansas
  5. California – Mission Trip to San Francisco
  6. Colorado – Visited on our western road trip; helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon
  7. Connecticut
  8. Delaware
  9. Florida – DISNEY WORLD
  10. Georgia – Stayed at the Marriott before flying out for our honeymoon; Six Flags over Georgia
  11. Hawaii – Family vacation in 2008
  12. Idaho – Family snowmobiling vacation when I was in high school
  13. Illinois – Tagged along on one of my Dad’s business trips to Chicago
  14. Indiana – (probably driven through, doesn’t really count yet)
  15. Iowa
  16. Kansas
  17. Kentucky – Visited a cousin who lives in Louisville and saw Wicked for her birthday
  18. Louisiana – Visited friends we met at Gulf Shores, my first experience with “Boudin”
  19. Maine
  20. Maryland – Visited on my trips to see D.C.
  21. Massachusetts
  22. Michigan – Visited an Aunt and Uncle who lived up there
  23. Minnesota
  24. Mississippi – (driven through on the way to Texas, doesn’t count yet)
  25. Missouri
  26. Montana – Visited on our western road trip
  27. Nebraska
  28. Nevada – Las Vegas/Hoover Dam; Saw David Copperfield, The Phantom of the Opera, and Cirque du Soleil
  29. New Hampshire
  30. New Jersey
  31. New Mexico – (probably driven through, doesn’t count yet)
  32. New York – Mission trip in middle school; family vacation/business trip while I was in college
  33. North Carolina – The WILDS youth camp
  34. North Dakota
  35. Ohio – Visited King’s Island amusement park with my youth group
  36. Oklahoma
  37. Oregon
  38. Pennsylvania
  39. Rhode Island
  40. South Carolina – Handbell competition at Bob Jones University (yes I am a nerd)
  41. South Dakota
  42. Tennessee – Greatest state on earth; my home state
  43. Texas – Visiting the in-laws… second greatest state on earth 😉
  44. Utah – Visited on our western road trip; Bryce Canyon National Park
  45. Vermont
  46. Virginia – Arlington National Cemetery
  47. Washington
  48. West Virginia
  49. Wisconsin
  50. Wyoming – Visited on our western road trip; Jackson Hole and Yellowstone National Park

Here are a few pictures from the various trips that I could find.  It’s amazing all the fun memories that come back when you remember each state and the fun things that happened there!

So what about you guys? (Those of you who are still with me).  What states have you been to?  Is being a member of the “50 State Club” on your bucket list? If so, how close are you?  I decided only to count states in which I have made a meaningful memory; while it means it may take a little bit longer to check off all 50 boxes, I can’t wait to give my grandchildren and beyond a list with all the crazy memories that are sure to be on it!

One thought on “50 States Challenge

  1. Pingback: Oh the Places You’ll Go | paradiseperspectives

Comments Welcome.